Spicy Yogurt Cream Sauce

So I mentioned in my last post that I served the pork loins with a baked potato.  I promise that baked potato recipe will come shortly after this one. I just HAVE TO post this one first. My guilty pleasure whenever I eat baked potato is sour cream. I loooovvve sour cream. I love the cooling effect and the sour bite from the cream. However, I always wondered if there was a way to get all of the delicious goodness without compromising on health. THERE IS!  I usually serve my baked potato with a yogurt based sauce.  I actually tricked my boyfriend into eating it and he liked it!

Everyone knows that fatty foods always taste better than healthy ones.  In diabetes clinic, I often have the opportunity to work with patients who struggle with making lifestyle changes.  Diabetics are often forced to give up on foods that they like and trade it for healthy bland food to control their blood sugar. My advice to them is to amp up the spice level.  Spices are the most ideal way to elevate bland healthy dishes into a dining experience. Without further ado, here is the play on sour cream:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon dried dill weed
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • salt to taste

Directions:

Mix yogurt and mayonnaise. Stir in 1 pinch of cayenne pepper, dill weed, 2 tablespoons of cilantro, lime juice, and salt. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate until ready to serve. Combine 1 1/4 cup of cilantro and onion in a bowl.

I’m kicking myself for not having a picture.  I love every ingredient in this faux “cream.”  Right off the bat, you can smell all of the freshness from the cilantro and lime.  The yogurt with the lime gives that similar bite that sour cream has. I love love love love love (x 10 million) this recipe. Credit to Haiderz on Allrecipes for coming up with this.

About Tiffany Huang

- Abounding sin is the terror of the world, but abounding grace is the hope of mankind. -A.W. Tozer
This entry was posted in Sauce, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment