Caesar Salad

Truly, nothing beats the simple pleasures in life.  I think that after 21 years of schooling, I really appreciate being able to stop and smell the roses. I have also been enjoying eating “cleaner.”  I was so busy the last few months that I have been loading up on top-ramen, hot cheetos,  and other junk. As a result, I gained about 6 lbs and have been experiencing the low-energy phenomenon that occurs when you treat your body like trash. Not to mention the acid reflux feels terrible. So, I’ve decided to really show some love to the simple and clean ingredients.

One of the recipes that came from my “simple and clean” initiative is this Caesar Salad Supreme.  The recipe came from Allrecipes.com by Karen Weir. I loved this recipe because it just tastes so fresh.  I posted the original recipe.  However, when I actually made it, I used some substitutions. I felt this recipe could have used less anchovies  since the anchovies really amped up the saltiness(4 filets would have done it and use salt to season to taste).  I also subbed out white bread for wheat bread and since I didn’t have 1-day old bread, I toasted it slightly. Disclaimer: the recipe tastes better using more fatty ingredients.

Caesar salad is currently my new love.  I’m really hoping I can keep this healthy thing going. More to come!

Ingredients

Dressing/Salad:

  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 3/4 cups of mayo
  • 5 anchovy filets
  • 6 tbsp of grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard
  • salt and blackpepper (to taste)
  • 1 head of romaine lettuce

Bread Crumbs/Croutons:

  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 4 cups of 1 day-old bread

Directions:

  1. Mince 3 cloves of garlic, and combine in a food processor with mayonnaise, anchovies, 2 tablespoons of the Parmesan cheese, Worcestershire sauce, mustard, and lemon juice. Season to taste with salt and black pepper. Refrigerate until ready to use.

IMG_6240

IMG_6241

 

2.Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cut the remaining 3 cloves of garlic into quarters, and add to hot oil. Cook and stir until brown, and then remove garlic from pan. Add bread cubes to the hot oil. Cook, turning frequently, until lightly browned. Remove bread cubes from oil, and season with salt and pepper. If the bread is still moist, place on parchment paper and cookie sheet and “dry” it in the oven at 275 degrees for about 15 minutes.

IMG_6242

IMG_6243

IMG_6245

IMG_6252

3.Place lettuce in a large bowl. Ensure that the leaves are dry.  Toss lightly with ~ 1 teaspoon of lemon juice if desired.  Then toss with dressing, remaining Parmesan cheese, and seasoned bread cubes.

IMG_6253

About Tiffany Huang

- Abounding sin is the terror of the world, but abounding grace is the hope of mankind. -A.W. Tozer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment