Pancakes

Pancakes.  Always a part of the perfect all-American breakfast. I will admit, there are many  things I can make very well and pancake has always sort of been a weak spot. Usually, I’ll reach for the Bisquick mix to ensure that I don’t screw up.  Today, I woke up with new found determination that I was going to make my own mix. Credits to “kris” on Allrecipes.com.  The pancake came out nice and fluffy just like the recipe promised.  I chose to use lemon juice as a substitute for vinegar.  The whole point of that was to simply curdle the milk a.k.a make your own buttermilk.  I don’t know about everyone else, but I don’t usually like to purchase buttermilk since I never use it up and it just goes bad. My other tip would be to sift the dry ingredients as it minimizes the clumpiness prior to mixing.  Other thing worth noting is that the batter is a little bit more sticky so don’t get nervous! If you want to thin out batter you can add about a teaspoon of milk.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cups of milk
  • 2 tablespoons of white vinegar (may use lemon juice instead)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons of white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter

Directions:

  1. Mix the vinegar/lemon juice and milk and set aside for 5 minutes to allow for curdling. Then add the egg and butter.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Combine the dry and wet ingredients.  Mix until all of the lumps are gone.
  4. Heat a large skillet over medium heat, and coat with cooking spray. Pour 1/4 cupfuls of batter onto the skillet, and cook until bubbles appear on the surface. Flip with a spatula, and cook until browned on the other side.

1958164_10205998079725186_4811039462420584831_n

About Tiffany Huang

- Abounding sin is the terror of the world, but abounding grace is the hope of mankind. -A.W. Tozer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment