Peanut Butter Cold Noodles

I’m all about quick meals these days.  I find myself eating a lot of different kinds of pasta, but unfortunately, I have a picky eater at home who can’t eat the same thing consecutively for too long.  Reminiscing back to my childhood, my mom used to make this Asian inspired cold-noodle dish and she always used peanut butter as the base.  I went online to research other peanut butter based recipes that had a little bit more complexity and came across one by The Cozy Cook. It’s such a easy dish that takes me 20 minutes to throw together–not healthy, but super easy.
Usually, I double the sauce because …why not.  I also made a few modifications to suit my family’s tastes.
See her original recipe:
Ingredients
Peanut Sauce

  • 1 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 4 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons Sriracha hot chili sauce
  • 2 teaspoons white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 1 cup water

Pasta

  • 1 pound spaghetti
  • 4 green onions
  • 1 small persian cucumber julienned
  • 1/2 of rotisserie chicken, shredded
  • 1-2 teaspoon of sesame oil

Instructions

  1. Combine all of the peanut sauce ingredients in a large bowl until well incorporated.

  2. Cook the pasta per package.

  3. Drain the pasta and add it to the large bowl of peanut sauce. Add in the shredded chicken. Use tongs to toss and coat the pasta, the peanut sauce will thicken in the fridge.

  4. Refrigerate – usually good after a couple of hours, but best served the next day

  5. When ready to serve, remove the noodles from the fridge and drizzle them with sesame oil. Use tongs to toss the noodles loosen them up a bit. Transfer them to a glass serving bowl and top with diced green onions.

About Tiffany Huang

- Abounding sin is the terror of the world, but abounding grace is the hope of mankind. -A.W. Tozer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment